Work Humbled Me

I moved to Santa Barbara from Roseville five weeks ago. I arrived to Santa Barbara with a few interviews scheduled, but no guarantee of a secured work. I was excited and thrilled about this new adventure, but this will be a tale for another article.

Today, I’d like to share my insight about work – How I was humbled by work and grateful for the work done by others.

I was hired for a temporary Kicker audio roadshow at Costco in Goleta, CA. I worked from 9:30am to 6pm on the weekends for two weeks. During this roadshow, my work consisted of introducing consumers to Kicker Audio, demonstrating the sound quality,  and completing the sale. There were no chairs for me to sit on and I stood at work the entire shift, except during my 30-minute lunch break where I got to sit for lunch.
I’ve never experienced standing on my feet for 8 hours straight, but I can tell you that it is not fun! My ankles and soles of my heels were fatigued. Perhaps I have weak ankles.

So, what did I learn from this experience? 

Well, for one, I’ve come to appreciate the guys and gals who stand at the checkout stand or sample kiosks that hands out food or product samples to consumers. It is an easy job to just stand there scanning or handing out items, but it isn’t easy on the ankles and feet!!

April 14th was my last day at the Kicker Audio roadshow. My colleague and I packed up the kiosk, loaded them onto two pallets, and shrink wrapped them with the Bill of Lading on it. That took us an hour to complete. When I left Costco, I saw a young lad carefully wheeling the lunch tables, at the food court, one by one onto the side before he could begin cleaning the floor that was stained with soda, ice-cream, pieces of veggie, meat, pizza, and hot dog.

As I watched him do that, I realized the necessity to appreciate and be grateful for all the services that is handed to me. I may be paying money for the product, food, and/ or service, but those things came at a price to those who were responsible for making its presentation look clean and tidy for me to enjoy.

So, what is work all about? I’ve been thinking about this question for a while now.

Work is a way for us to earn a wage, develop character and skills, hone our strengths, discover our unique passion or passions, and identify what pinches our nerves! Work requires hard work, dedication, discipline, and work sucks sometimes because we can’t get our way with it. It becomes painful.

Beyond the rewards and pain that comes with work.
Work helps us realize the importance of humility and gratitude for the things that exists in this physical world. Humility and gratitude can’t be taught or learned. It has to be realized, and such realizations is the path to wisdom.

As you go on with your days work, may you experience humility and gratitude for the work you’ve done for others and the work others have done for you. :) 

2 thoughts on “Work Humbled Me

  1. That sounds like a good character-building experience, Rachael. Hope you’re having a good rest afterward!

Leave a Reply

